Chris W

Chris Wible re-elected to Franklin Soil and Water Board

Chris Wible has been re-elected to the Board of Supervisors of Franklin Soil and Water Conservation District at a public election held September 15, 2016 at the Boathouse at Confluence Park, 679 W. Spring Street, Columbus, Ohio. The two candidates for one open seat were Anuja Sriparameswaran, MD and Chris Wible.

Mr. Wible is the Director of U.S. Manufacturing Quality & Continuous Improvement at Scotts Miracle-Gro. He previously led Scotts’ Environmental Stewardship Program where he collaborated with federal, state, and local water quality organizations to address urban stormwater and nutrient management issues. Chris is actively working with conservation districts across Ohio to enable districts to share information and ideas, build relationships, and leverage the unique strengths and resources of each district to implement urban programming.

“We had two excellent candidates for this year’s election.  We are excited that Mr. Wible will be able to continue his work representing Franklin Soil and Water at the State and National level.  We also hope to retain Dr. Sriparameswaran on our Associate Board of Supervisors.  She is passionate about environmental issues and has been a great advocate for Franklin Soil and Water.  She also adds a different perspective with valuable knowledge as a pediatrician. ” said Jennifer Fish, Director of Franklin Soil and Water.

Enabled under Ohio Revised Code 940, soil and water conservation districts are subdivisions of the State of Ohio organized along county boundaries. Franklin Soil and Water officially began its work to improve and protect Franklin County soil and water resources on May 11, 1946 as a result of action by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in response to the Dust Bowl. Since then, the Board of Supervisors and staff have presented yearly updates on programs and accomplishments to Franklin County residents and landowners.

The five-member Board of Supervisors is the governing body of Franklin Soil and Water. Supervisors must own land or reside in Franklin County. They serve, unpaid, for three-year terms as elected public officials. Franklin Soil and Water receives non-mandated funding from the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, local municipalities and from the state as match funding.

Published: September 19th, 2016