In Ohio, soil and water conservation districts are administered by a board of five supervisors.   Supervisors are elected to three-year terms in public elections conducted by the Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission.  Supervisors volunteer their time, energy and expertise.

2015 Board of Supervisors

Jessica D'Ambrosio

Jessica D’Ambrosio, Vice-Chair

Jessica D’Ambrosio is a program manager for the Ohio Nonpoint-source Education for Municipal Officials (NEMO) Program, an extension education program of The Ohio State University.  In addition to her research on the concept of alternative designs for agricultural channels and the geomorphology and ecology of stream systems, she has managed grant-funded education and outreach projects for over 10 years.  Jessica has a MS in environmental science and currently is pursuing a PhD in soil and water engineering from The Ohio State University. Since 2004, Jessica has coordinated and been the proceedings editor for four national water resources conferences; she has coordinated and been a co-instructor for 12 regional stream management workshops; she has managed the development of a wide range of scientific and educational materials on stream and watershed systems; and she has served as a resident director for the Study Abroad Program and the NSF-funded initiative Globalizing Engineering Education: Partnerships between Africa and the USA. Jessica has acted as a technical adviser to many state and local groups involved in both urban and agricultural water resources management including MORPC, Franklin Soil and Water, The Nature Conservancy, watershed groups, and municipalities.  Prior to being elected to the Board of Supervisors, Jessica was a member of the Franklin Soil and Water Associate Board.



David D

David Donofrio, Secretary

David Donofrio is a lifelong resident of Franklin County, a Franklin Soil and Water Board Supervisor (who has served as both chair, vice chair and now secretary), and a current associate board member who heads the District’s Government Outreach Committee. Committed to conservation, David has also served in leadership capacities for a host of other organizations throughout the community, and believes the best solutions begin at home. He is a strong supporter of the District’s GIS mapping, educational and backyard conservation efforts, and having attended the District’s Strategic Planning retreat in 2013, looks forward to expanding these programs as the District grows. Also, having run for state office and worked in the Statehouse formerly, he has the experience to ensure that, through our continued outreach efforts, the District will maintain both its state and local funding streams, regardless of ideological differences in the legislature. Outside of the District, David works as the Special Projects Manager for Tailored Management, and he resides in northwest Columbus with his partner Ryan and cat, Ohio.



John M

John Moorehead

John Moorehead is a professional engineer with Advanced Civil Design, Inc. located in their Gahanna office. John specializes in watershed planning, surface water protection, floodplain management, and construction site erosion control. John holds a B.S. in Civil Engineering from Ohio University, focusing on environmental engineering. Over the past seven years, John has produced stormwater engineering solutions for projects in 26 states, providing experience with the resource management policies employed by a broad range of regulatory agencies. With technical expertise in green infrastructure, non-point source pollution control, and low impact development, John provides cutting edge stormwater management solutions in urban environments. In support of state and federal agencies he has performed hundreds of fluvial geomorphology studies assessing threats to infrastructure caused by stream bank erosion and channel instability. John is a resident of Sharon Township, and is active in the local chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers. As a member of the Board of Supervisors, John hopes to serve the Soil and Water Conservation District in their mission to protect our county’s natural resources.


Katie Renner

Katie Renner, Treasurer

Katie Renner earned a BA in biology from Earlham College and an MS in environmental policy from The Ohio State University’s School of Natural Resources.  She is currently serving a third term on the Franklin Soil and Water board. Katie was treasurer for the the board during her first two terms  and served on the associate board before her election to the board.  Katie brings experience working with watershed protection efforts and in conflict resolution programs.   Prior to the arrival of her now-ten-year-old daughter and eight-year-old son, she worked on conservation and other initiatives as a land use planner for the City of Columbus.  Currently, Katie is an adjunct professor of environmental science at Ohio Dominican University and biology at Columbus State Community College.  She hopes to continue to serve the Franklin Soil and Water board and highly-skilled staff as they strive to meet the challenges of the District’s tremendously important mission.



Chris W

Chris Wible, Chair

Chris Wible is the Technical Services Director at Scotts LawnService. He is responsible for agronomic programs, service delivery, supply chain, fleet, and regulatory compliance for the company’s lawn, tree, and pest control services. Prior to joining LawnService, Chris led Scotts Environmental Stewardship Program where he collaborated with federal, state, and local water quality organizations to address urban stormwater and nutrient management issues.He is a member of the Ohio Lake Erie Phosphorus Task Force II. Chris is a Board member of OPARR (Ohio Professional Applicators for Responsible Regulation), an alliance of associations, businesses, and individuals dedicated to working in cooperation government officials, and with other environmentally- concerned organizations to insure safe and effective use of pest control, agricultural, and lawn and tree care chemicals. He has served as a board member at the Scott Associates Credit Union since 2009 and currently serves as Board President. Chris is a graduate of The Ohio State University, where he received his B.S. , and a M.B.A graduate from Ashland University.