Scioto River


Franklin Soil and Water Conservation District’ s mission is to promote responsible land use decisions for the conservation, protection and improvement of soil and water resources by providing information assistance through effective partnering, technical guidance and education.


Soil and water conservation districts are subdivisions of the state, organized under ORC 1515, and conterminous with county boundaries.  In Ohio, there are 88 soil and water conservation districts.  Districts are overseen by five-member, publicly elected Boards of Supervisors.  Franklin Soil and Water receives non-mandated funding from the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, local municipalities and from the state as match funding.

Program Areas